May 2016 Member Spotlight: Colin Vickers

A round of applause for the winner of VPW’s Donaukanal Stand Up Paddling Contest 2016 & Graffiti Photo Walk, Colin Vickers!

Our congratulations go out to Colin Vickers, who won VPW’s Donaukanal Stand Up Paddling Contest 2016 & Graffiti Photo Walk competition with the above shot, taken from the Schwedensbrücke, looking down at the canal. The vivid colours and dynamism of this shot resulted in it being voted number one by the members of Vienna Photo Walk. As always, to celebrate this victory, we invite the winner of our contest to give us an interview. It gives us all a chance to get to know them a little better, and perhaps learn a thing or two from them.

VPW Photo Walk Winner Interview: Colin Vickers

I am from England but have been living in Vienna for 13 years and I am a professional photographer/artist. I first really got into photography about 15 years ago when I got an SLR as a wedding present. I originally wanted to be a black and white fashion photographer but I quickly realised I was more interested in creative photography and ended up doing more arty photos.

Most of my photography-education has been through trial and error and I am always trying to push the boundaries of my photography. With every shoot, I like to try something new – sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn’t but I always learn something. I also try to learn from other photographers, whether it is from videos, watching them work, or asking them friendly questions.

My real passion now are artistic nudes. When I started, I was heavily influenced by Austrian photographer Andreas Bitesnich, but lately I am just following my own path. I am always trying to push the boundaries of photography and have been playing around a lot with light painting and projection. I currently work with D800s because the high-resolution sensor is perfect for studio work. My biggest photographic project right now is sorting out a series of workshops in my studio, which will also be available to rent. I can’t tell you what the key to a great photo is, but only that I try to make my photos interesting and unusual. Most people have a camera and so you have to make your photos stand out in some way to be noticed.

I would love to travel more with my photography and shoot with elite models in exotic locations – that would be my dream. In my free time, I love hanging out with cool and interesting people. Random fact about me: I used to sing a lot when I was a child – I was even on TV…..once!

So far I have been to just one walk organized by VPW – it was a lot of fun and the people were lovely. I think it is a great thing for people to get together and share their passion. It would be nice if it was a little more often, but I understand it takes a lot of time to organise things.

I would like to thank Colin for taking the time to share his story and thoughts here with me; it was a pleasure to find out more about him and his work. To see more, please check out Colin’s work on the following websites:

Instagram: @drfoto.at
Homepage: www.colinvickers.com
Blog: www.colinvickers.com/blog
Facebook: www.facebook.com/drcolinvickers
Tumblr: www.drcolinvickers.tumblr.com

If you have any questions or comments for him, please feel free to leave a comment below, or send us an email.

As always, looking forward to the next walk, the next winner, the next interview!

Ally

