JANUARY 2016 MEMBER SPOTLIGHT: Joao Pedro

Congratulations to Joao Pedro who is the joint winner (with Plamen Nikolov) of our St Marx Cemetery Photo Walk contest with his photo above. We loved the perspective, atmosphere, and the wild nature of this photo.

In this short interview, Joao shares how his photographic journey began with a disposable camera, how he prefers candid rather than posed photos of people, as well as some of his favourite photos of his home country – Madeira.

Happy reading! 🙂


1. How did you get into photography and what do you hope to achieve with it? 

When I was a kid I used to get disposable cameras to take photos on schools trips, and sometimes me and my sister would also be given them on holiday too.

I think my Father influenced me quite a bit. When I was growing up I saw my Father taking photos to record moments. So when I started working and had the opportunity, I bought my own DSLR camera so that I could record my own moments.

I just hope to achieve a good level, so that I can decorate my house with my memories. I just want to learn more about this art and enjoy the scenery.

2. What type/s of photography are you most passionate about, and why? 

Currently, I most often take photos of natural landscapes to record the places I go to. But I’d really like to improve by taking more diverse photos, especially of people. I’d like to try to catch the moment, especially if the people are unaware of the photo, as I don’t like posed photos so much.

3. How do you educate yourself to take better photos? 

My education is a mix of learning by myself, reading on internet forums and such like, and sharing knowledge with friends. My cousin Marco Teixeria was especially helpful, as he taught me the first steps, and encouraged me to start looking for more context in photos.

4. Share with us – do you have a favourite photo of all time? What is it that you most like about it?

I don’t have an specific photo that I can call my favourite. I can never decide on only one, and at the moment I’m not following any specific photographers.

5. What is your experience of Vienna Photo Walk? 

This was my second Vienna Photo Walk. It was a good experience, as it enabled me to go to a place that I’ve never been to before, and I had the opportunity to take photos in a scenario with beautiful snow. I just need to be less shy, to talk more with all the people, and learn what the group have to teach each other.

 

Thank you for sharing your story and these beautiful photos, Joao!

So, there you go! I hope you enjoyed learning a bit more about Joao? I think his photos from his home country of Madeira are a superb advert for the island! 😉 Doesn’t it look beautiful?

I know that there is a lot of experience and knowledge in the group, so chatting with others and learning from each other is most definitely a great idea. Next time Joao! 😉

Fancy joining us? Then make sure you join our Facebook group to get involved, and to be the first to know about our walks.

All the best,

Lorna

One thought on “JANUARY 2016 MEMBER SPOTLIGHT: Joao Pedro

Comments are closed.