Scouting Visit: St Marx Cemetery

In case you’re sitting on the fence about whether or not to register for our photo walk to St Marx Cemetery on 23 January 2016 at 10.30am, I thought I’d share with you some of the photos I took during my scouting visit, to act as an incentive to join us!

So, what’s interesting about St Marx Cemetery?

Probably the most common reason for people to visit this particular cemetery in Vienna is that Mozart was supposedly buried there in a mass grave. I say supposedly because there seems to be considerable debate about the exact location. In honour of the great composer, a monument was built in 1859 – some 68 years after his death – which can now be found right at the heart of the cemetery.

Although I sadly can’t guarantee the snow (which certainly added to its beauty and the romantic mood when I was there!) there are lots of ornately carved statues and gravestones from the 1700s and 1800s which I’m sure you’ll enjoy feasting your camera-eyes on!

So, what are you waiting for? Places are limited, so register your FREE place now before it’s too late! 🙂

Looking forward to seeing you there!

Lorna

One thought on “Scouting Visit: St Marx Cemetery

Comments are closed.